THE DAY MY LIFE CHANGED

1521885_10201616365948693_664908767_n

I was six years old. I loved music and had always wished that my singing voice was better. I had never sung in the presence of others but sang by myself whenever I could find a hiding place in which to practice.

On this particular day I was standing with the entire population of all the class rooms from my school. We were assembled in the cafetaurium of Harmony Elementary School. We were being led in the song, America.

I was just sort of humming along and then suddenly I felt a need to hear myself and my voice let loose fo the first time in my life. My eyes were stinging with tears of joy, my chest was quivering and my voice was growing stronger.

My life had  changed.

As I sang, those around me turned to look and before the song had ended Mrs Skinner the music teacher who was leading us, had sent someone to place a microphone near me.

On that day my life changed.

I became the popular lead in the Oklahoma City Boy’s Choir and the First Baptist Church Boy’s Choir and I developed my own piano routines to accompany myself when I played at the children’s shows in the Oklahoma City Parks Department productions and In Dallas and yes, even in New york City and of course at Harmony Elementary.

When I was eleven my voice changed.

When I was eleven my whole life changed.

I learned to improvise and developed my own singing style.

When I was seventeen I became a singing soldier traveling with Gary Crosby. When the show ended  I went home and my life changed.

I raised a family, I built a business and with the help of friends I created a children’s theatre and my life changed .

I became a songwriter and one of my songs became a hit.  In terms of riches and public awareness, the song I Had a Dream was known only to a few but the few who liked it were all celebrity performers and producers and I sang this song at Hollywood parties and Celebrity Country Clubs.

And, my life changed.

I created a radio show which featured two characters ; their names were Vile Villainous Van Vicious and his Nemesis, Robert the Right.

Van and Robert were very funny and the music I created to introduce the show was a huge success; so much so that the intro and the style and everything that made that show successful for eleven years were stolen by a local television station.

My life changed.

My show was canceled and yes, my life changed.

That same day I lost the lease for Lee Broom Gallery in North Scottsdale and again my life changed.

And on that very same day I wrecked my Volvo and my insurance had lapsed and I hardly noticed another life change.

I took a telemarketing job and using the money I earned,  turned my business into a design service WHICH IS STILL ALIVE TODAY and again my life changed.

Today my life is all about change.

I write about change.

I help others to adapt to change and to explore new ideas and new ways of thinking so that when change occurs we don’t have to be short-changed.

By the way, Vile Villainous Van Vicious and his Nemesis, Robert the Right are still around but their lives have changed.

Their names were changed to protect their innocence.

They are know today as Curious Abner and the Psychedelic Toad.

Leave a comment