WIN, LOSE OR DRAW. HOW IT WORKS.

lee_broom

 Winners Lose, Losers Learn and Those who Draw are Turning it Over.

Competing with others is self-defeating.

Winning can be deceiving.

Losing is often misconception.

(Losers are often winners.)

When we “lose” we inherit an abundance of information about how to improve. As “winners” we know only that we set a new record; perhaps we have a trophy to attest to that one insignificant fact.

As true winners we share what we have and are grateful for what we receive.

When we compete with others, our goals include trying to steal what others have. At times like this we are the real losers for we miss the opportunity to think well of ourselves. The way we feel about ourselves is linked to the way we think about “doing” or about “being”. When we compete with others rather than with our own previous performances, we focus on the erroneous belief that the nicest compliment we can offer to someone is “good job” and would never, ever thank anyone for anything. If someone thanks  a person of this ilk, the response will probably be “no problem” which is inappropriate because the person who says this is the only one who thinks a problem must exist.

The person who thanks someone is expressing gratitude. The person who thinks in terms of doing a good job and who believes that competition is a good thing knows nothing of Being; their  lives are tied to Doing. They believe that the expression of gratitude is a way of vocalizing an IOU when it is really an expression of appreciation. These people are easy to spot. In addition to the clues given in this report, they also frequently fold their arms over their chests and talk in a monotone. When I find myself folding my arms I ask myself “What are you afraid of fella?”

I know these things, not because of my years of training in the behavioral sciences but because I am an experienced competitor. Someone led me to an easier, softer way, half a  lifetime ago. It was on my mind this morning because the old way of thinking has been creeping back into my conversations today, with civil servants of all people. I can’t change them.

I can’t teach them to suddenly start thinking logically.

But I tried, and…

I accomplished nothing but tight abs and a furrowed brow.

Thank you reader, for allowing me to take a quick look at myself.

Enjoy your day. I’m headed for the gym.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

