A NATURAL BORN SALESMAN

Lee_Broom

A NATURAL BORN SALESMAN

 Question: What draws you to wanting to be in sales?
Answer: I am a writer. Every novel, every poem, every play is from start to finish, a pitch, a sales presentation, a close.

But let’s say I am an oil painter; my specialty is portraiture; I must walk the fine line of the creative minority, hoping to understand the needs of this client.
Do I minimize the baggy eyes, shall I opt for realism; will I bump into myself on the frail path before completing the journey?
I begin with an interview, sketching, noting, observing the client’s home and making detailed notes. And then we get personal; we become friends; we have our dance and the party begins.

Perhaps, I am a young, single man whose eyes and imagination will not allow him another minute to pass without making a presentation to the loveliest woman he has ever seen. I am embarrassed, awkward and at my very worst as I stand before her, determined to present the image of a man of strong bearing.

And lastly, let’s say I have just been born; my umbilical cord has been cut and I cry; my lungs inflate and I am in a new world. I experience danger; I feel the tremor of first fear. Mother calms me. The safety that seemed to have been lost is reaffirmed with mother’s cooing words.  I have learned about danger and the need for safety.  I now link fear with crying. Finally, I discover the connection with making loud baby sounds and the reassuring voice, a voice that I know well, singing gently, “Now, now, Mommy’s here.”

I have in the last few seconds, made my first of a million future sales presentations for no greater reason than to do my part in making the world a better and safer place in which to spend my life.

I am a natural-born salesman. And so are you.

Leave a Reply

